How to become a certified ITIL Expert in 2022

How to become a certified ITIL Expert in 2022

How to Become a certified ITIL Expert in 2022

What is ITIL?

ITIL stands for Information Technology Infrastructure Library. It is a set of best practices followed by organizations, and it aligns IT services with the needs and objectives of the organization.

Levels of ITIL Certification

There are five levels of ITIL certification. Namely: ITIL Foundation, ITIL Practitioner, ITIL Intermediate, ITIL Expert, ITIL Master

By becoming a certified ITIL expert you get many new and higher-paying opportunities. An ITIL v4 Expert certification also gives you an edge over others. The ITILv3 expert is updated to ITIL v4 expert. 

In India, the average salary of ITIL expert is around 8 lakhs per annum and after doing an ITIL certification, you get a chance of augmenting your salary by 10-12 percent.

Nowadays even organizations prefer hiring individuals with a valid ITIL certificate as it is believed that the ITIL certified individuals are well-groomed for the IT industry.

ITIL Framework and ITIL Modules

Before understanding how to become an ITIL expert, let’s have a good understanding of the different ITIL modules:

The ITIL framework: If you are aiming for an ITIL certification then you must possess a clear understanding of the different life cycles of ITIL. Let’s check the different ITIL modules

1) ITIL service strategy: Helps IT organizations to develop over the long term

It consists of:

A) Strategy Management

B) Service Portfolio Management

C) IT Financial Management

D) Demand Management

E) Business Relationship Management

Suggested resource – ITIL Service Strategy Certification Training

ITIL Service Design: It orients around 4 Ps which stands for:

1) People: This refers to the people, skills and competencies involved in the provision of IT services

2) Products: This refers to the technology and management systems used in IT service delivery

3) Processes: This refers to the processes, roles and activities involved in the provision of IT services

4) Partners: This refers to the vendors, manufacturers and suppliers that are used to assist and support IT service provision

Key Processes of ITIL Service Design

The key processes of ITIL service design are as follows.

☑ Service Catalogue Management

☑ Service Level Management

☑ Capacity Management

☑ Availability Management


☑ Information Security Management

☑ Supplier Management

Suggested ITIL expert training – ITIL Service Design Certification Training

ITIL Service Transition: This module ensures that changes to services and service management processes are carried out in a coordinated way. ITIL service transition consists of Change Management, Change Evaluation, Project Management, Application Development, Release and Deployment Management, Service Validation and Testing, Service Asset and Configuration Management, Knowledge Management

Service operation monitors that IT services are delivered effectively.

It consists of event management, incident management, problem management, request fulfillment, access management

Suggested ITIL expert training – ITIL Service Transition Certification Training

ITIL Continual Service Improvement: This is also termed as CSI and refers to the method of executing opportunities to make IT processes and services better.

Suggested resource – ITIL Continual Service Improvement Certification Training

How to Become an ITIL Expert

 Below is the guide to ITIL expert certification path

✤ To begin with, you must possess the ITIL v3 Foundation* certification or ITIL 4 Foundation certification

✤ You should earn a minimum total of 17 credits from the ITIL Foundation and ITIL Intermediate modules. Remember, clearing the ITIL foundation exam gives you 2 credits. Then you can take up the ITIL lifecycle and capability classes. Clearing the ITIL lifecycle gives you 3 credits while clearing the capability gives you 4 credits. This is the ITIL expert qualification needed to get certified.

✤ For more information about ITIL expert path, you can obtain knowledge from the ITIL Credit System page for obtaining more information.

✤ You need to pass The Managing across the Lifecycle (MALC) exam to achieve a total of 22 credits, which is the minimum score required for the ITIL Expert certificate.

MALC exam consists of a multiple-choice question and around 70% is needed to pass. The exam is of 120 minutes duration.

Post completing all ITIL modules and after earning sufficient credits, you will be awarded the ITIL Expert certificate.

Hence in order to become an ITIL expert, you need to pass a total of 7 exams. ITIL expert certification cost is $390. 

Tips to clear ITIL exam and get ITIL v4 expert certification:

✤ Self-study can be helpful

✤ Practice the free sample papers

✤ Consider taking guidance from an expert.

✤Enroll in an ITIL training institute to seek guidance and assistance

The ITIL Expert certification is aimed at those who have gained superior knowledge and comprehended the best practices.

While it may be a sound decision to acquire an ITIL expert certification to find new opportunities, getting an ITIL certification may not be a cakewalk.

An ITIL Expert certification needs dedication, sincere efforts, and a well-planned strategy to ace the exam. You may consider taking ITIL certification training from a reputed institute to help you in the preparation process and to aid you with the tips and techniques.

Hence you can consider becoming an ITIL expert to find new opportunities and to get a boost in your career with the ITIL expert level training offered by Sprintzeal.

To know more about the ITIL courses and other career-making courses offered by Sprintzeal and to get details about batches and schedules, email at Click Here or chat with a course expert to get an instant reply.



With over 3 years of experience in creating informative, authentic, and engaging content, Nandini is a technology content writer who is skilled in writing well-researched articles, blog posts, newsletters, and other forms of content. Her works are focused on the latest updates in E-learning, professional training and certification, and other important fields in the education domain.

Trending Posts

Enterprise Architect Interview Questions and Answers 2022
Enterprise Architect Interview Questions and Answers 2022

Last updated on Sep 30 2021

ITIL Framework and Certifications Guide 2022
ITIL Framework and Certifications Guide 2022

Last updated on Oct 31 2022

Well Explained : The IT Service Management and ITSM Design, Concepts and its Benefits
Well Explained : The IT Service Management and ITSM Design, Concepts and its Benefits

Last updated on Jul 29 2020

ITIL Problem Management Guide for Beginners
ITIL Problem Management Guide for Beginners

Last updated on Mar 30 2022

ITIL Framework Explained
ITIL Framework Explained

Last updated on Oct 20 2022


Last updated on Nov 17 2022